Maria Anderson In Conversation with Michael Brennan

Michael-Brennan-03

Brennan has always been invested in economy over minimalism. “I am interested in drawing down to the bone, and my paintings at this point are literally made with two coats of paint, black and white,” he says. In an interview with MINUS SPACE, Brennan describes why he has veered toward monochrome. “I had to address questions of how far I wanted to go with color, and architectural forms. I really just wanted to put all of that aside and embrace some of the simpler qualities that had defined my works on paper already. It was a sorting out process that took some time.”

Read more.

Leave a Reply

